Housekeeping

The time stamp function on this blog was not set correctly, running 11 hours ahead. It is now one hour behind. Bear with me.

John Schofield also suggested I might consider editing what I write.  I go back and correct grammar, and if there is new info that modifies what I have written I will try and update that, but for the most part what you see is as I type it, with the thankful addition of spell checking, because I am a lousy typist and often flip pairs of letters, like teh instead of the.  Granted, most of my posts would shrink by about 50% if I did edit…I will think about it.

2 Responses to “Housekeeping”

  1. John Schofield Says:

    There is no better writing advice that Strunk and White:

    Omit needless words.

    Vigorous writing is concise. A sentence should contain no unnecessary words, a paragraph no unnecessary sentences, for the same reason that a drawing should have no unnecessary lines and a machine no unnecessary parts. This requires not that the writer make all his sentences short, or that he avoid all detail and treat his subjects only in outline, but that every word tell.

    Source online: http://www.bartleby.com/141/strunk5.html

  2. markthoman Says:

    I used to have a copy of “Elements of Style”. I think it went with a huge box of old paperbacks. I really miss those paperbacks.


Leave a comment